Return

A familiar step 

Over the threshold

But it’s different now

The flowers have died

The dust has collected

The cobwebs have enveloped the gloom

The light is gone

Yet no darkness lives here compared to where I have been 

Things you left before 

Now mean the world 

As they are all you own 

Things you lost 

Now mean nothing 

As now you have a home  

Where I was no one lived

Nothing lived not even me 

I survived but didn’t live in that place

Where I was you now study as history 

But for me it’s everyday 

Where I was you see as a thing of the past 

Yet I still am there

You call them concentration camps 

I call them hell

You call hell, hell 

I call hell a holiday 

You have no idea

You can never know 

The things I saw

The things I did

The things I said

You have no idea

You can never know 

So study all you can 

But you won’t learn 

You can’t learn 

Leave a Reply

