when death comes 

When death comes what’s left

Will they remember or forget 

A few old items in the back of a draw

Kept forever to remember me more

But death strikes again and again 

And so on forever 

Until I am nothing 

A gap or a name 

But nothing more 

Perhaps an old photo 

In the back of a draw 

When I’m nothing 

I hope you remember 

The way I loved you 

My darling forever 

You were the baby 

The one I cared for

In my waning years 

You were there dear 

Some people never knew

Their grandparents 

But you knew me 

So well you knew me

So never forget 

You can never forget 

Let my name live on forever 

Leave a Reply

