The reply (A retort to A love letter to alcohol) 

I may help you forget, 

I may help you be open,

I may help you lose your fear,

I may help keep you sane, 

But I am no friend, 

I will make you remember things you long to forget,

I will make you tell people what you should not tell,

I will make you do things you’ll regret,

I will make you lose your mind in the end,

I am no friend, no lover, 

I shall do for you what I do for millions of others,

I am not your remedy,

I am not your cure,

Your mind cannot be fixed with drink.

Leave a Reply

