My lifelong friend:

You’ve been there for years, 

Sometimes you leave me,

But you always come back,

You change and shapeshift,

But you’re my lifelong friend.

You never truly go away,

I doubt you ever truly will,

It’s not like I asked for you,

But I doubt you wanted me,

You’re still my lifelong friend.

Let me go, I really wish you would,

But you hold on to me with claws,

The moment I’m free,

The moment I break away, you’re back, 

You’re my only lifelong friend.

Depression: you hold my life in your hands,

Depression: you are my keeper,

Depression: you control everything I say and do,

Depression: you hate me yet won’t leave,

Depression: you are my lifelong friend.

Leave a Reply

